In conjunction with ACM MobiCom
Home   Call for Paper   Camera Ready Submission   Committee   Venue   Program   Panel   Registration

Sponsored by ACM SIGMOBILE

September 29, 2006
Los Angeles, California, USA

Call For Papers (Pdf version)

ACM WMASH aims to address and discuss the technical and business challenges, ideas, views, and research results in providing public wireless Internet services and applications for mobile users in small, highly-populated, public spaces (wireless LANs and "hotspots").

Since the beginning of the workshop in 2003 several research and business challenges related to public WLAN were put forward. These challenges still need to be explored and market needs to converge while new developments continue. The challenges are: What is the overall network architecture and service model? How to roam through multiple wireless access providers with a unique service contract? How to decouple the wireless infrastructure providers from the Internet service (and content) providers? How to locate service facilities in the wireless access domain and how to match the available facilities with the user needs? How to exploit location and context information? How to provide differentiated service levels to different customers? How to achieve seamless interoperation between WLAN-based hotspots and cellular and other emerging wireless data networks? The last challenge, concerning seamless interoperation, is catching the most attention these days leading to activities in IEEE 802 and in 3GPP to move quickly towards finding standardized solutions.

This workshop will aim at discussing these and several other challenges and issues behind the evolution of WLANs from cable replacement to public access. Leaders and thinkers of the field from academia and industry will assemble to share their ideas and views. Authors are invited to submit original technical papers or position papers, describing current research, experimental work and visions of the future. We are specifically interested in work dealing with network layer and above (layers 3-7). Within the context of interest to this workshop, a list of topics includes, but is not limited to:

  • Applications and services
  • New service and business models
  • Public WLAN and hotspot architectures
  • Community-owned WLAN infrastructures
  • WLAN-based ad-hoc network service creation and management
  • Metro-area hotspots using 802.11/802.16 mesh
  • Multi-radio mesh node designs
  • Self-configuring mesh networks for public hotspots
  • Mobile routers for transient, portable hotspots
  • Application case studies of mobile routers
  • Interworking with other wireless systems, e.g., 3G, 802.16
  • Mobility, roaming, and handoff management
  • Context-aware services and technologies
  • Location-aware applications and services
  • Multimedia wireless applications, e.g., Voice over WLAN (VoWLAN)
  • Authentication, accounting, billing and payment issues
  • Security and privacy in public WLANs
  • Middleware support
  • Service location and discovery
  • Traffic measurements and modeling
  • Case studies on deployed platforms and experimental testbeds

Please consult the Program Co-Chairs Sajal K. Das ( and Anand Prasad ( if you are uncertain whether your paper falls within the scope of the workshop.

Important Dates:

  • Paper Submission Deadline EXTENDED: June 20, 2006 - 23:59 CET

  • Notification: July 24, 2006

  • Camera Ready Due: August 4, 2006

Organizing Committee:

     General Chair

  • Renato Lo Cigno, University of Trento, Italy

     Technical Program Co-Chairs

  • Sajal K. Das, The University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • Anand Prasad, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Munich, Germany

     Web Master and Publicity Chair

  • Danilo Severina, University of Trento, Italy

     Publications Chair

  • Sajal Das, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • Sumantra Kundu, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Steering Committee:

  • Giuseppe Bianchi, University of Roma Tor Vergata, Italy
  • Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Parviz Kermani, IBM Research, USA
  • Sung-Ju Lee, HP Labs, USA

Technical Program Committee:

  • Nilanjan Banerjee, Motorola India Research Lab, India
  • Milind Buddhikot, Lucent Technologies Bell Labs, USA
  • Claudio Casetti, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Mainak Chatterjee, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Sunghyun Choi, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Laura Feeney, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden
  • Rosario Garroppo, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Javier Gomez-Castellanos, National University of Mexico, Mexico
  • Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento, Italy
  • Xingang Guo, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Jeffrey Hightower, Intel Research Seattle, USA
  • Giulio Iannello, University Campus Bio-Medico, Italy
  • Kyunghun Jang, Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Korea
  • Young-Bae Ko, Ajou University, Korea
  • Yui-Wah Lee, Lucent Technologies Bell Labs, USA
  • Yonghe Liu, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  • Stefan Mangold, Swisscom Innovations, Swiss
  • Archan Misra, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
  • Saishankar Nandagopalan, Qualcomm Inc., USA
  • Saverio Niccolini, NEC Europe Ltd. - Network Laboratories, Germany
  • George Polyzos, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
  • Neeli Prasad, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Daji Qiao, Iowa State University, USA
  • Puneet Sharma, Hewlett Packard Labs, USA
  • Rajeev Shorey, General Motors Research, Bangalore
  • Raghupathy Sivakumar, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Young-Joo Suh, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea
  • Ilenia Tinnirello, University of Palermo, Italy
  • Gergely Zaruba, The University of Texas at Arlington, USA